Any Fly Fisherman???

General musky fishing discussions and questions.

Moderator: Cyberlunge

Wounded Minnow

Any Fly Fisherman???

Post by Wounded Minnow » Tue Nov 10, 2009 8:45 am

Anyone here on the site fly fish for Muskies???

Jim tenHaaf

Post by Jim tenHaaf » Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:16 pm

HUH?? Fly fish? Never heard of it.... [smilie=biggrin.gif] Mskyprey just got one on a fly. Where are you, Mskyprey??? Congrats on that pig again!

Scott Williams

Post by Scott Williams » Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:18 pm

There are a few guys here that fish em' with flies... I have a hard enough time catching them with conventional gear though. :roll:

mskyprey

Post by mskyprey » Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:36 pm

I am still learning myself, and am new to Muskie fishing this year but would be willing to pass along anything I have learned. I have had 3 talented fly guides tie flies for me this year, and will pass on contacts if you are looking for that as well.

Wounded Minnow

Post by Wounded Minnow » Fri Nov 13, 2009 9:42 pm

Thanks for the replies guys, I was really just curious as to what you were using for leader, I hear fluorocarbon can work, but can get bitten through which I don't want to leave a 12" fly in the mouth of a Muskie for many reasons. I hear Cortland has some stuff called Toothy Critter or something like that and you can tie knots with it, but they can't bite through it. Anyone have any experience with this product?

Thanks

Larry Porter

Post by Larry Porter » Sat Nov 14, 2009 8:19 am

I have fly-fished for a few decades for toothies, and I am still searching for the best leader. I had a huge northern bite through 40-lb hard mono at boatside on Lake Bemidji many years ago, so I can't use mono anymore. Is flourocarbon different? Probably. But for now, I use 20- or 30-lb. plastic-coated stranded wire twisted and melted on the fly end, and nail-knotted on the leader end. I am open to other methods though.

Wounded Minnow

Post by Wounded Minnow » Sat Nov 14, 2009 10:16 am